Chinese Government Full Scholarships

Three Chinese Government Full Scholarships for the Academic Year of 2018-2019—the most prestigious scholarship awarded to American students by the Chinese government and is administered by the Chinese Embassy and Consulate Generals in the United States and the Ministry of Education in People’s Republic of China.

  1. This full-ride scholarship supports students studying in a Chinese university for ONE YEAR.  It covers registration, tuition, dorm on campus, textbooks, monthly living allowance, and medical insurance.
  2. Applicants can apply for an academic program from the Chinese HEIs (Higher Education Institutions) designated by the Ministry of Education (Note: many top universities including Beijing University, Tsinghua University, Shanghai Jiaotong University, and Renmin University are all on the list.)  A complete list of the universities can be found at
  3. Applicants must be non-Chinese citizens and in good health.

Please Note: Once awarded, the recipients are required to contact the Chinese universities by themselves and to receive the Admission Letter in order to use the scholarship.

If you are interested, please complete the application form (Part One and Part Two) and submit it to Dr. Jin Liu ( no later than Feb. 16, 2018.  The selection of the candidates will be made by a committee of Modern Language faculty and the Office of International Education at Georgia Tech.  If you have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact Dr. Liu at

More information about this prestigious scholarship can be found at

Past Recipients


Muehring Luke (Computer Science), Beijing University
Yeiryun Park (ALIS), Renmin University


Nik Muaz (BME), Beijing University 
Alejandro Neou-Curiel (Mechanical Engineering), Zhejiang University
Christian Rivera (BME), Beijing University


Mary Kho (BME), Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Chris Krueger (BME), Beijing University
Nicholas Stoltzfus (Computer Engineering), Beijing University


Sara Cagle (Computer Science and Chinese), Beijing University
Chris Harper (Math and Chinese), Beijing University
James Tooles (International Affairs), Nanjing University


Johnathan Brame (HTS), Shanghai Jiaotong University
Christianna Madson (Chinese), Beijing University
Ben Townsend (Chinese), Minzu University of China


Laura O'Donnell (Management and IAML-Chinese), Huazhong University of Science and Technology
David Garner (Computer Science), Shanghai Jiaotong University
Ryan Yan (Business Administration), Remin University